Past Winners

2016 Rossini Club Scholarship Winners

2016 Portland Rossini Club Scholarship Competitions Results

This Competition took place at the Cathedral of St. Luke in Portland on June 4, 2016. Each of the twelve competitors was above the age of 17, comes from Maine,  and was registered as music major in the fall of 2016 at an accredited music school, college, or university. Each competed by performing for a panel of judges for ten to fifteen minutes.

Emily K Rand Instrumental Scholarship

The Emily K. Rand Instrumental Scholarship was established in 1932 in memory of the Portland Rossini Club’s third president, a vocalist, who presided in a distinguished manner for 25 years.

Melody R. Hasbrouk from Gorham  took first place prize of $1500.  A Senior Music Education Student at University of Southern Maine, she plays flute. Melody Hasbrouck






Helen Gray-Bauer from Cape Elizabeth received Honorable Mention with a prize of $500. She is a student at Skidmore College and plays viola.

Barbara C. Littlefield Vocal Scholarship

The Barbara C. Littlefield Vocal Scholarship was created in memory of the club’s longtime treasurer, vocalist, Barbara Littlefield.

James M. Brown, Countertenor, from Portland  won the first place prize of $1250. He graduated from University of Southern Maine in 2016 and will be a Graduate Student at McGill University in the fall.

James M. Brown

Helena Crothers-Villers, Mezzo-Soprano, of Portland won the second prize of $750. Helena is a Senior Vocal Performance Major at University of Southern Maine.

Helena Crothers-Villers

Lucia A. Wright Piano Scholarship

The Lucia A. Wright Piano Scholarship was established in 2001 as a bequest of pianist, Lucia A. Wright, a member in good standing for fifty-five years.

Christopher Staknys of Falmouth, who studies at The Juilliard School in New York, Jonathan Prak of Biddeford, an undergraduate student at University of Southern Maine, and Tina Davis of Gorham and Bucksport, a graduate student at University of Southern Maine tied for second place with $650 apiece. there was no first place winner.

Christopher StaknysJonathan PrakTina Davis

2015 Rossini Club Scholarship Winners

The winner of the Lucia Wright Piano Prize is: Christopher Staknys from Falmouth was awarded a prize of $1200. He will be a sophomore at The Julliard School in the fall and comes from Falmouth.

The Emily K. Rand Instrumental Prize was awarded to Helen Gray-Bauer in the amount of $1200. Helen plays the viola, is graduating from the Waynflete School and lives in Cape Elizabeth. She will be attending Skidmore College in the fall.

Honorary Mention to the Barbara C. Littlefield Vocal award was given to Darby Martin in the amount of $500. She comes from Vasselboro and will be a sophomore at Westminster Choir College next fall.

For more, click here.

2014 Rossini Club Scholarship Winners

 (left to right)

Rand Scholarship Winner,
Ryu Mitsuhashi – violin – $1200
lives in Old Town,
attends University of Maine

Barbara Littlefield Vocal Prize,
Aaren Rivard -Tenor – $1200
lives in Portland,
attends University of Southern Maine

Lucia Wright Piano Prize, second place
Shu Jing Lian – $400
lives in Mechanic Falls,
Freshman at Bowdoin in the fall

Lucia Wright Piano Prize, first place
Kelia Ingraham – $800
lives in Kennebunk,
attends Hartt School of Music, CT

2013 Rossini Club Scholarship Winners

Kelia Ingraham, piano,
Lucia Wright Prize, Second Place

Jacob Davidson, piano,
Lucia Wright Prize, First Place

Kimberly Ouellette, soprano;
Barbara Littlefield Prize, Second Place

Christopher Climo, baritone;
Barbara Littlefield Prize, Honorable Mention

Megan Shusta, french horn;
Emily Rand Prize, First Place

2012 Rossini Club Scholarship Winners

Rand Instrumental Prize
Nicholas Brown of Portland

Wright Piano Prize

First place to Amanda Raymond of North Waterboro

Littlefield Vocal Prize

First place to Lauren Yokabaskas, Soprano, of Cape Elizabeth